NORMAN ADA PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION SUB-COMMITTEE MEETING 201 West Gray, Building A, Multipurpose Room

Monday, August 31, 2020 3:00 pm Minutes

It is the policy of the City of Norman that no person or groups of persons shall on the grounds of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, age, place of birth, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, familial status, marital status, including marriage to a person of the same sex, disability, retaliation, or genetic information, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or otherwise subjected to discrimination in employment activities or in all programs, services, or activities administered by the City, its recipients, sub-recipients, and contractors. In the event of any comments, complaints, modifications, accommodations, alternative formats, and auxiliary aids and services regarding accessibility or inclusion, please contact the ADA Technician at 405-366-5424, Relay Service: 711. To better serve you, five (5) business days' advance notice is preferred.

Adopted May 28,2019

Staff Present: Jesse Hill, ADA Technician

Shawn O'Leary, ADA Coordinator/ Director P.W.

Taylor Johnson, Public Transit Coordinator Brenda Gomez, P.W. Administrative Assistant

Jack McMahan, Consultant

Kristina Bell, Assistant City Attorney

Committee Present: Nelson Dent, Citizen Committee Member

Eva Smith, Citizen Committee Member Mary Phariss, Citizen Committee Member Ann Gallagher, Citizen Committee Member

Others Present: Linn Blohm, ADA Citizen Advisory Committee

Chris Nanny, Citizen

Mark Nestlen, Oklahoma Transit Association (OTA)

Pete Gibson, OU Intern

Michael Scroggins, EMBARK Marilyn Dillon, EMBARK

Committee Not Present:

Amy Brown, Citizen Committee Member Huddle Dean, Citizen Committee Member Taiya Crowe, Citizen Committee Member Sumita Gulati, Citizen Committee Member

Item No. 1, Welcome:

Linn Blohm welcomed sub-committee members at 3:05 p.m. and stated she would be unable to chair the entire meeting. Taylor Johnson to take over when Linn has to leave.

Item No. 2, March 9, 2020 Meeting Minutes:

Linn Blohm asked if someone would make a motion to approve the committee meeting minutes from the previous meeting of March 9, 2020. Ann Gallagher made a motion to approve the minutes with a correction noted, which was seconded by Nelson Dent (unanimous approval).

<u>Item No. 3, Update on Statewide Initiatives, HB1365:</u>

Mark Nestlen, OTA gave information on the Oklahoma Public Transit Policy Plan – it was scheduled for July 1 but had to be moved to December 1, 2020. Nelson\Nygaard has completed the market analysis (mapping)

Review of statewide plans

5310 Admin has moved from DHS to DOT and managed to get 8 million in federal funds back

5310 fills the gaps for seniors and others with special needs

Mobility management is used to help coordinate providing transportat to general public or specific groups. To provide assistance to riders for how they can better use the transit system.

<u>Item No. 4, Update on City Transit System:</u>

Taylor Johnson addressed Saturday service

Due to Covid there is no Route 144 since the Moore

Due to Covid there is no Route 144 since the Moore Social Security office is still closed.

Fare analysis is being handled by Nelson/Nygaard

Fare boxes (cost versus fares)

<u>Item No. 5, Accessible Private Transportation Discussion:</u>

Kristina Bell addressed questions on city ordinances regarding private cab companies. Licensing of taxi cabs – if they receive federal funds, they must have accessible vehicles. At this time there are no cabs know to receive these funds. If there are complaints regarding private taxi, these complaints must go through DOJ.

Item No. 7 Adjournment:

Ann Gallagher called for a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Nelson Dent. Motion was unanimously approved. Meeting adjourned at 3:52 p.m.

Next meeting December 14, 2020 @ 3:00 p.m.