CHARTER REVIEW COMMISSION MINUTES

December 20, 2012

The Charter Review Commission met at 5:30 p.m. in the Municipal Building Conference Room on the 20th day of December, 2012, and notice and agenda of the meeting were posted in the Municipal Building at 201 West Gray 48 hours prior to the beginning of the meeting.

PRESENT: Ms. Jane Abraham

Mr. Thad Balkman Mr. Trey Bates

Mr. Doug Cubberley, Vice-Chairman

Ms. Carol Dillingham

Mr. Hal Ezzell

Mr. Harold Heiple, Chairman

Ms. Samantha Kahoe Mr. Ken McBride Mr. Barry Roberts Mr. Richard Stawicki Mr. Bob Thompson

ABSENT: Mr. Ken McBride

Mr. Kevin Pipes

STAFF PRESENT: Mr. Jeff Bryant, City Attorney

Ms. Brenda Hall, City Clerk Mr. Steve Lewis, City Manager

Items 1, 2 and 3, being:

INTRODUCTIONS, OPENING REMARKS, AND INTRODUCTION OF STAFF SUPPORT MEMBERS.

Mayor Rosenthal welcomed members of the Charter Review Commission and thanked them for their service on this very important Commission. She said the Charter is to the founding document, if you will, of the City of Norman. She said Council adopted Resolution No. R-1112-9 tasking the Charter Review Commission to conduct a targeted review of specific areas of the Charter to see if they need to be updated and modernized. She felt it would be engaging for all members as they work through the review over the next year.

Mr. Heiple asked for clarification of whether the Commission could look at areas of the Charter outside the specific areas outlined in the resolution. City Attorney Jeff Bryant said there is a provision in the Resolution where the Commission could ask the Council, to direct by motion or resolution, the authority to look at other sections.

Committee members and staff introduced themselves and provided information about their background.

Charter Review Commission December 20, 2012 Page 2

Item 4, being:

ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR.

City Clerk Brenda Hall opened the floor for nomination of Chair. Two nominations were received; Harold Heiple and Doug Cubberley. Harold Heiple was elected by majority vote.

Chairman Heiple opened the floor for nominations for Vice Chair. Doug Cubberley was nominated with no other nominations. Chairman Heiple declared Doug Cubberley as Vice Chairman by acclamation.

*

Item 5, being:

ESTABLISHING A MEETING SCHEDULE.

It was the consensus of the Commission to meet on the first Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

*

Item 6, being:

ADJOURNMENT.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:58 p.m.